Texturing my model with Photoshop

This lesson involves me making the textures for my spaceship model within Adobe Photoshop. I started off by going into the texture editor so that I could select the ‘Polygons’  select ‘UV snapshot’ in order to save the image of the UV map into my ‘Pictures’ folder. Doing this allows me to open this within Photoshop so that I can draw or place any textures on the map.

With Photoshop open, I had opened up the screenshot then locked that layer so that I can’t change anything in that layer. I had also created another layer which would be underneath the layer of the UV map and changed the background to black. I had done this because the lines of the UV map is white and if I put the background layer above the UV layer then the lines won’t show. Now it’s time to put the textures on. You can get some images from Google; however, this is mainly recommended if you are doing this for quickness as there are websites that have better quality textures.

Save these images into a place where you can find them, I have saved them into ‘My Pictures’ folders in ‘My Documents’ since I use it often so it will be difficult to not find them. Then just drag the file onto the open window, this will put the image onto the Photoshop as a new layer. This will also be in ‘Free Transform’ mode so that you can move and scale the image: put the image onto the shapes of the UV lines which is the faces you want textured then press enter to confirm the transformation. If you have an image from Google then you will have to right click the layer then left click and select ‘Rasterise Layer’, you can’t edit the image or delete it without doing this.

Then you will need to select the UV layer with the ‘Magic Wand Tool’ selected along with changing a setting to 248 so that it will select the whole texture in a face or the out of face section. Click the outside of the layer so that it will select the outside of the shapes then click back on the layer of the texture you have been editing and finish it by pressing the backspace key. This will make the texture only go in the face and not outside of it. If the texture is overlapping a face that you don’t want, then you can just select it with the magic wand tool and delete it.

Leave a Reply

